Five Strategies To Stay LASER FOCUSED on your goals!

 

It’s been said a million times. People in business and network marketing have heard it at every sales conference, at every motivational seminar and at every training they ever attended.

Set Goals.

That is the very first step to success with any venture. A goal. It has to be real. It has to be attainable. It has to be something worth working for.

In network marketing or internet marketing it is easy to set a goal of making a bunch of money. You hear the stories of ordinary people making unbelievable incomes and living the lifestyle of the rich and famous, so it is easy to set that up as a goal.

But is that a real goal. Or is it pie-in-the-sky dreams? When you set a goal you have to be able to figure out a way to get there, or it is useless.

In my first venture into network marketing back in the early 90’s I was blown away to hear about the money some people were making. I had joined a well-established nutritional company and I met people who were making astronomical incomes. These people didn’t impress me as someone who has super-extraordinary abilities or wisdom. They were normal people who had worked, built a business and were reaping the rewards. I knew I could do the same thing.

So they said “Set Goals” and go after them. Oh I set some goals, alright. I remember I wanted 100 people on my front line and doing $100,000 volume in sales each month. But nowhere did anyone give me a plan or route to that goal…just set it and go after it. Sure I got the usual put out ads, put out fliers, call family and friends. Do house parties, get a booth at the mall. The normal network marketing mumbo jumbo…

And I worked my rear-end off. Constantly putting out fliers, placing newspaper ads (this was before the internet changed everything). We did house parties every week. And all of my family and friends got sick of hearing me talk about my company.

Yes, I moved some product. Yes I signed up some new distributors, but after a couple of years of working the business every single day I was making around $500 a month…a far cry from the hundreds of thousands of dollars a month that I thought I should be making.

All of that to get you to this. I now have realized that just setting a goal is not good enough. Anybody can do that. What you need is to set one master goal, then set step-by-step goals that will eventually lead you to that master goal. You need several victories along the way in life to keep you going toward the ultimate goal.

When it comes to marketing online today, it is so easy to get caught up with so much going on, that you get distracted and lose your focus on where you are heading. There are thousands of companies out there with tremendous offers and opportunities to make money. All you have to do is look around the internet a bit and you can find hundreds with sales pitches that make your mouth water.

I know when I got started in online marketing I joined just about everything I saw, because they all sounded so good. But then they went nowhere fast. All of that took me away from the focus of my goals. Don’t get distracted by the big hype of the every-day new internet launches. Find a place you belong with PEOPLE who care about you, then get laser focused on achieving your goals.

Take a look at these five things you MUST know when it comes to staying Laser-Focused on reaching your goals:

  1. Know your goals and keep them in front of you at ALL times…Your goals should be

    your focus. If they are on a back-burner in your brain you will never reach them. They have to be an ever-present part of your life. It keeps you motivated. It keeps you realizing you have something better ahead of you. It is so important that where you are going or what you are after is a part of your every day life. It makes it much more realistic and much more achievable.

  2. Make a plan…People who fail to plan, plan to fail. If you have a goal, but don’t know how to get to it, what use is it? What strategies, what actions, how soon, how often, you have to answer those questions to realistically figure out how to get where you want to be.

 

  1. Make your goals known…Share them with a friend(s) or colleague(s). If you put yourself out there and have someone with you to push you, you are much more likely to reach those goals, than if you keep them to yourself. Yes that is safer for your ego…but it is about ego or reaching the goals?
  2. Take Actions that move you toward your goals…never do anything that will move you away from your goals. When two goals require opposite actions – you need to make decisions that will accomplish the most important goal, while not totally killing the other goal.

    An example I recently experienced: I have goals with my present real job of getting so many sales in during one day, so I need to work as fast as possible. I also have a weight-loss goal I am working on. So to work faster and get more done quickly it is easier to eat lunch at a drive through and keep going. But we all know those Big Macs will kill a diet in a second. Now I could have packed a lunch, but I didn’t. So what to do? I decided to run into a store, buy a box of protein bars, get a diet drink and keep working. That way I can keep going toward both goals. Yes it took some time to stop, go into a store, stand in line, etc. But it was still quick enough and I got back to work with lunch completed and still on my diet!

 

  1. Evaluate your actions…are they really moving you toward your goals or are you spinning your wheels. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. If your actions are not moving you toward your goals, you are wasting time. You must be able to evaluate your actions to know if those are the right ones – or do you need to change your strategy. This is why tracking your advertising is so important. You have to know where your responses are generated. Then you can allocate more time and resources to those things which work and forget those which are not giving you a good return.

 

Follow this guideline and you will not fall prey to hype and lies, but you will end up with a business you love, people who care about your success and the lifestyle that you so truly deserve.

NOTE: About the author, Joe Whitfield is an internet marketing coach and trainer. He is on the Executive Leadership Council at GoGo20.com and a member of the dream team at Numis Network. To connect with Joe and learn more about internet marketing you can see his web page at http://www.joewhitfield.com or connect with him through twitter at http://twitter.com/E_ZHomeBiz.

He is also available by phone at 678 521 4501.

It’s been said a million times. People in business and network marketing have heard it at every sales conference, at every motivational seminar and at every training they ever attended.

 

Set Goals.

That is the very first step to success with any venture. A goal. It has to be real. It has to be attainable. It has to be something worth working for.

 

In network marketing or internet marketing it is easy to set a goal of making a bunch of money. You hear the stories of ordinary people making unbelievable incomes and living the lifestyle of the rich and famous, so it is easy to set that up as a goal.

 

But is that a real goal. Or is it pie-in-the-sky dreams? When you set a goal you have to be able to figure out a way to get there, or it is useless.

 

In my first venture into network marketing back in the early 90’s I was blown away to hear about the money some people were making. I had joined a well-established nutritional company and I met people who were making astronomical incomes. These people didn’t impress me as someone who has super-extraordinary abilities or wisdom. They were normal people who had worked, built a business and were reaping the rewards. I knew I could do the same thing.

 

So they said “Set Goals” and go after them. Oh I set some goals, alright. I remember I wanted 100 people on my front line and doing $100,000 volume in sales each month. But nowhere did anyone give me a plan or route to that goal…just set it and go after it. Sure I got the usual put out ads, put out fliers, call family and friends. Do house parties, get a booth at the mall. The normal network marketing mumbo jumbo…

 

And I worked my rear-end off. Constantly putting out fliers, placing newspaper ads (this was before the internet changed everything). We did house parties every week. And all of my family and friends got sick of hearing me talk about my company.

 

Yes, I moved some product. Yes I signed up some new distributors, but after a couple of years of working the business every single day I was making around $500 a month…a far cry from the hundreds of thousands of dollars a month that I thought I should be making.

 

All of that to get you to this. I now have realized that just setting a goal is not good enough. Anybody can do that. What you need is to set one master goal, then set step-by-step goals that will eventually lead you to that master goal. You need several victories along the way in life to keep you going toward the ultimate goal.

 

When it comes to marketing online today, it is so easy to get caught up with so much going on, that you get distracted and lose your focus on where you are heading. There are thousands of companies out there with tremendous offers and opportunities to make money. All you have to do is look around the internet a bit and you can find hundreds with sales pitches that make your mouth water.

 

I know when I got started in online marketing I joined just about everything I saw, because they all sounded so good. But then they went nowhere fast. All of that took me away from the focus of my goals. Don’t get distracted by the big hype of the every-day new internet launches. Find a place you belong with PEOPLE who care about you, then get laser focused on achieving your goals.

 

 

Take a look at these five things you MUST know when it comes to staying Laser-Focused on reaching your goals:

 

 

  1. Know your goals and keep them in front of you at ALL times…Your goals should be

    your focus. If they are on a back-burner in your brain you will never reach them. They have to be an ever-present part of your life. It keeps you motivated. It keeps you realizing you have something better ahead of you. It is so important that where you are going or what you are after is a part of your every day life. It makes it much more realistic and much more achievable.

     

  2. Make a plan…People who fail to plan, plan to fail. If you have a goal, but don’t know how to get to it, what use is it? What strategies, what actions, how soon, how often, you have to answer those questions to realistically figure out how to get where you want to be.

 

  1. Make your goals known…Share them with a friend(s) or colleague(s). If you put yourself out there and have someone with you to push you, you are much more likely to reach those goals, than if you keep them to yourself. Yes that is safer for your ego…but it is about ego or reaching the goals?
  2. Take Actions that move you toward your goals…never do anything that will move you away from your goals. When two goals require opposite actions – you need to make decisions that will accomplish the most important goal, while not totally killing the other goal.

     

    An example I recently experienced: I have goals with my present real job of getting so many sales in during one day, so I need to work as fast as possible. I also have a weight-loss goal I am working on. So to work faster and get more done quickly it is easier to eat lunch at a drive through and keep going. But we all know those Big Macs will kill a diet in a second. Now I could have packed a lunch, but I didn’t. So what to do? I decided to run into a store, buy a box of protein bars, get a diet drink and keep working. That way I can keep going toward both goals. Yes it took some time to stop, go into a store, stand in line, etc. But it was still quick enough and I got back to work with lunch completed and still on my diet!

 

  1. Evaluate your actions…are they really moving you toward your goals or are you spinning your wheels. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. If your actions are not moving you toward your goals, you are wasting time. You must be able to evaluate your actions to know if those are the right ones – or do you need to change your strategy. This is why tracking your advertising is so important. You have to know where your responses are generated. Then you can allocate more time and resources to those things which work and forget those which are not giving you a good return.

 

Follow this guideline and you will not fall prey to hype and lies, but you will end up with a business you love, people who care about your success and the lifestyle that you so truly deserve.

 

NOTE: About the author, Joe Whitfield is an internet marketing coach and trainer. He is on the Executive Leadership Council at GoGo20.com and a member of the dream team at Numis Network. To connect with Joe and learn more about internet marketing you can see his web page at http://www.joewhitfield.com or connect with him through twitter at http://twitter.com/E_ZHomeBiz.

He is also available by phone at 678 521 4501.

Leave a Reply

